Where Is UKZN Located? How Many Campuses do they have?

The University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) is one of South Africa’s leading institutions for higher education. This university is internationally recognized and is renowned for its academic excellence and wide range of programs. Furthermore, it offers excellent research output, great academia, and African scholarship.

UKZN is located in the province of KwaZulu-Natal in South Africa and is a network of five main campuses and a number of satellite campuses and centers. All these campuses have a distinctive character and are located in the KwaZulu-Natal province of South Africa. So, let’s find out more about the specific location of UKZN campuses.

UKZN All Campuses Locations

The history of this university dates back to the early 20th century. However, the merging of two major universities in 2004 marked the birth of the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

Moreover, on January 1, 2004, the University of Durban-Westville (UDW) and the University of Natal merged to form the University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN).

The University of Durban-Westville was initially reserved for Indian students and was not inclusive. However, in the 1980s, the university opened its doors to everyone, making it an all-inclusive and truly a South African university. Today, it embodies diversity and goes beyond racial lines, focusing on its central mission: academic excellence, research innovation, and active participation in addressing societal needs.

1. Pietermaritzburg Campus – 80km from Durban

The Pietermaritzburg Campus is in the center of the beautiful Natal Midlands and is close to parks and nature reserves. The Old Main Building, built in 1912, is situated on this campus and is considered one of the oldest university structures. Furthermore, this is the only campus providing agriculture, theology, and fine arts training.

Pietermaritzburg Campus is located approximately 80 kilometers from Durban and around 160 kilometers from Drakensberg. Furthermore, it is home to the science and humanities faculty, along with agriculture.


Scottsville, Pietermaritzburg, 3209, South Africa.

2. Howard College Campus

The Howard College campus was opened in 1931 and was named after Howard Davis, who died in the battle of the Somme during the First World War. This campus is located in the suburbs of Glenwood in Durban and is considered the main campus of UKZN. Moreover, the campus offers a variety of undergraduate and postgraduate programs.

It consists of a huge engineering department that offers electrical and mechanical engineering. Furthermore, it encompasses the College of Humanities, College of Law and Management, and the Center for Creative Arts (CCA). Similarly, the Elizabeth Sneddon Theater is also located here and hosts various festivals throughout the year.


King George V Avenue, Glenwood, Durban, 4041, South Africa

3. Edgewood Campus

The Edgewood Campus is situated in the Pinetown near Durban. This campus focuses on education and teacher training programs.


University Road, Pinetown, 3610, South Africa

4. Medical School Campus

The medical school campus is located in Durban. Furthermore, it focuses on medical and health sciences education, including undergraduate and postgraduate programs in medicine, nursing, pharmacy, and other fields.


719 Umbilo Road, Umbilo, Durban, 4001, South Africa

5. Westville Campus

The Westville campus is situated in the suburbs of Westville in Durban. Furthermore, it is home to the University’s faculty of management, IT, Governance and the School of Law.


University Road, Westville, Durban, 3630, South Africa

In short, the University of KwaZulu-Natal is located in the KwaZulu-Natal province of South Africa. Furthermore, it has five campuses, each with its distinctive character. Moreover, these campuses are situated in Durban and its surroundings.